‘Wifey’ Status Devalues


Like economics, if all things were equal and men would profess their transgressions, ‘Wifeys’ would bite their nails, and run to find a lawyer. I blame tradition for putting this word Marriage on a scale, when in reality respect is not shown. It has been said that many girls grew up fantasizing about this wonderful word, they would do anything before the age of thirty to get married, have kids, settle, get bored, and then die.

Lately, I’ve realized young ladies are worrying about ‘getting married’, and the ‘wifey’ status, that they so want to proclaim, is dubbed like it’s a prestigious award of some sort. Reality is, ‘wifey’, your status has been devalued like any vehicle that is being driven right at this present moment.

Why; because you wear a wedding band that you solemnly cherish, while you are not being respected. By whom; the men you marry, the ones who sneak out at night to have sexual relations with another woman/man/child, fucking them in whichever orifice they choose. While they come home with roses, singing ‘I love you’ like a perfect note sung by the church choir, and yes, their excuse is; ‘I was with the boys’

Why praise your status, when the other person who made it possible is not respecting you; even when you are aware of it? I’m sure that even when reality hits, you will not leave. The fact that society is going to think otherwise and gossip about the perfect world you unashamedly/openly bragged about, changes your perspective of not dealing with the situation, instead you complain to Tom, Dick, Susie and Harry about how miserable you are, disturbing their world, while yours is crumbling.

Do you even know the truth of why you got married? And please save the chit chat about love. He married your boring ass so that he could keep you home, raise the kids, and have indiscretions with the freak next door. The freak that actually takes the time to suck his dick, and knows that sex is not on schedule.

I know a lot of married men, whom 90% of them do not respect their wives. The power that was bestowed upon them has now been used to decapitate those who come in contact with them, and don’t worry, your head was the first to go. If he doesn’t respect himself, why do you think you’ll be favoured? Remember, a lot of his friends are on the other side of the fence, agreeing, laughing, wishing they could pinch you and tell you to run.

I wonder how many husbands would profess to their wives that they called off a relationship the day before they got married. Darling, not even your honeymoon was harmonious. No I’m not saying you should become a ‘Matey’. Instead, know who you are. Respect yourself. Be smart; don’t let the pressure of society decide your fate in an unscrupulous world full of deception. So ladies, while you beg for your man to ‘put a ring on it’, be open/prepared for the risks.

‘What you settle for, is who you are’

Grace Aitcheson

3 Comments

Filed under Marriage, Relationship

3 responses to “‘Wifey’ Status Devalues

  1. Susie McCray

    Wowwww. This may in fact be why I’m still single with my 35th birthday around the corner. I am not the type who’s in love with the notion of being Mrs. So-in-so just for the sake of saying “I’s married now.” I’m waiting for the right one. I’m patient. If I don’t meet my mister until my three year old gradautes from college, I’ll still be happy.

  2. Sure, some marriages & some men & women are like THIS. Not all. I was married @ the age of 22 & that was a mess… No, my husband didn’t cheat on me. He abused me. I stayed until I wasn’t afraid/ashamed to admit what my marriage REALLY was.

    Yes, I do want to get married again & I will, but I have learned to love myself… and I own my self-worth. & to be honest w/ you? I am now only wanting to be with a man who knows God… I’m not all religious, but I am spiritual & I do think that is important… that we both know Him so that we are both on the same page.

  3. Lexei

    I love this article. Just love it. It’s honest til its brutal.

Leave a comment